Professional Context Report: Proposal

In this project I shall investigate what I will need to carry out in order to achieve my professional career goals.

My professional targets

The first professional target is to gain work experience placements and/or internships at appropriate media companies so that I can develop my professional profile and figure out which path I want to follow in my future career. The tasks I will need to perform to help me expand my experience in different media outlets is to market myself online in an appropriate manner so that I can make business contacts and build a platform for my online work portfolio via WordPress, LinkedIn, Twitter and Facebook. As I already have two work experience placements, I shall document what tasks I carry out in the workplace via a weekly diary.

The second professional target I want to achieve is developing my application idea for mobile devices with creative companies that can enable me to create more in depth designs, and market my product. As well as this, this experience will help me broaden my field of expertise and establish myself further in the media sector. In order to achieve this in the future, I shall research companies and the process that other app creators have gone through when producing their phone application.

The third and final professional target is to research the media job markets in Manchester/Salford and London as these cities provide the widest media and journalism career pool in the UK and I would like to move to one of these cities so that I can achieve success in my career. To do this, I will investigate online what experience and other requirements the job positions ask for in applicants when they apply for jobs in the journalism and media fields. I will document my findings through my WordPress blog.

