Page List

My magazine will be 17 pages in length and will include:

  1. Front cover (Jools candid image)
  2. Contents page (with images from stories)
  3. Student profiles
  4. Student style (double page spread)
  5. Interview with Jools (transgender student studying at HSAD; four page spread)
  6. Student recipes (on a budget food shopping; double page spread)
  7. Interview with Ian (previously homeless student at HSAD; four page spread)
  8. The perks of being a student (double page spread)

Why I chose this content:

I wanted the content of my magazine to appeal to all genders, so I conciously decided on what to include in my magazine based on this. To cover all bases, I wanted to have a fashion feature in the magazine, but one that could be of interest to men and women. I also decided to have a page dedicated to student profiles, not just from my university, but from Hull and the surrounding areas. I have picked two graduates and two undergraduates to profile in Unimag, to give a little bit of diversity.

My target audience is university students, so starting with this, I wanted content that would be young and interesting to the target market. Interviews with university students was something I definitely wanted to have in Unimag, mostly because it would help identify a connection to the market, and give a personable, true to life element to the magazine. I asked around with my peers to see if anyone at my university had a story they wanted to be told about their life. This is how I came across the stories of Jools Oughtibridge and Ian Judson, a transgender man, and a previously homeless man who has turned his life around. Because I knew the two men personally, it made it easier for me to set up interviews and ask them questions about their past.

In addition, I wanted to include food recipes that would be of interest to students living away from home. I went from the angle of budget shopping and how easy the recipes are to complete. I think this way the recipes would be appropriate for the target market. The final piece I chose to include in the magazine was a fun, funny and relatable post about the perks of being a student. This spread is light-hearted and I thought it would be a good piece to conclude my magazine with.

I initally wanted to end my magazine with upcoming events in the area, but after some thought, and as we are coming to the end of the university year, events were limited and would have been location specific, also limiting my audience to people in the area of Hull.

